English edition. Prices are in Japanese yen from Japanese online stores, and most shops ship within Japan only. Links marked JP open pages in Japanese.

Home › Guides › School price comparison

How to choose

Golf school prices comparedPrivate, small-group and indoor simulator lessons, side by side with official figures

Updated: Oct 2, 2026Contains affiliate links

Compare golf school prices and the trial lesson alone ranges from ¥2,000 to ¥11,000, a gap of more than 5x. The units are all over the place too, because the formats differ. Per lesson, the range I could calculate from official figures was about ¥8,700 to about ¥27,400.
This article lines up the one-on-one schools RIZAP GOLF and GOLFTEC with small-group, indoor-simulator Sanctuary Golf on the same criteria. It's written by a gear nerd who averages 72 (best 68) and has studied how clubs are built for years. By the end, you'll be able to decide which format to pay for, or whether you need to pay at all right now.

Header image for the golf school price comparison (private, small-group, indoor; trials from ¥2,000 to ¥11,000)

Product image in header: Rakuten Ichiba (Ad) | Yupiteru GST-7 BLE

In this article

  1. Bottom line
  2. The Gear Nerd's Take: some curves are fixed by gear, not lessons
  3. Three golf schools' prices, cheapest trial first
  4. Who each format suits: private, small-group, indoor
  5. What to check at a trial: is your curve swing or gear?
  6. The Gear Nerd's Pick: one session that records your curve in numbers
  7. Who doesn't need lessons, and cheaper ways to go
  8. FAQ

Bottom line

Compare prices on two things, not the monthly or course fee: cost per lesson and what you pay up front. Some formats charge ¥0 enrollment but have pricey lesson packs; others cost more per lesson but come with a 30-day refund guarantee.
If you're a beginner without clubs, a small-group unlimited format with free club and shoe rental suits you, since you get more swings in. In that case, confirm the monthly fee at the location before deciding. I couldn't confirm Sanctuary Golf's monthly fee as text on its official site.
If your 7-iron finishes within about 5 yards left or right of target and your strike is consistent, you don't need to pay anyone right now. Reviewing your gear first is cheaper. Same goes if you only pick up a club once a month.

The Gear Nerd's Take: some curves are fixed by gear, not lessons

Before looking at prices, let's sort out one thing: is your curve the kind you pay someone to fix in your swing?

The ball curves because the face angle at impact doesn't match the path of the club. That mismatch comes from your swing. On the other hand, if length, weight or lie angle doesn't fit you, your strikes scatter and your direction varies. That's on the gear side. The line I use is how many yards a 7-iron finishes left or right of target. With a 160-yard 7-iron (my own measurement), a 10-yard miss is about 3.6° of direction (my calculation). That's more than bending the lie angle can cover, so beyond 10 yards I suspect the swing first; around 5 yards, the gear first.

The assumptions behind the math, and how to tell from sole wear and strike marks, are in the lessons-or-clubs-first article. Ten balls at the range will tell you. If yours turned out to be a gear issue, treat the price table below as reference only.

Three golf schools' prices, cheapest trial first

They're ordered by the price of the trial, which everyone pays first, cheapest first. Affiliate status didn't change the order. I only included figures each company publishes as text on its official site. Where a price table is an image I couldn't read, it says “not confirmed officially.”

This table scrolls sidewaysSwipe right →
SchoolFormatEnrollment feeMonthly / course feeTrialRefund guaranteeLocations
Sanctuary GolfUnlimited small-group lessons. Simulator golf at every bayNot confirmed officially
(campaign shown; see text below)
Not confirmed officially
(price table is an image)
¥2,000, 50 min, one-on-one style
(tax status not stated)
Not confirmed officially25 locations
(Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Ibaraki)
RIZAP GOLFOne-on-one with a dedicated trainer¥55,000BASIC: 16 lessons (2 months) and up, from ¥382,800
PRIME: from ¥154,000 + ¥495,000 plan registration fee
Golf assessment with trial lesson
¥3,300, 60 min
30 days from first course use
(program fee; merchandise and golf assessment excluded)
19 locations nationwide
GOLFTECOne-on-one. Swing analysis using AI video analysis¥0
(no membership, bay or admin fees either)
Lesson packs: 10 lessons ¥110,000 (3 months)
25 lessons ¥225,500, 40 lessons ¥347,600 (12 months each)
First swing evaluation
¥11,000, 60 min
Not confirmed officially
(not stated on price page)
11 locations
(Tokyo 7, Yokohama, Nagoya, Osaka, Fukuoka)

Sources: Sanctuary Golf official (homepage, first trial lesson, pricing, FAQ), RIZAP GOLF official (homepage, plans, pricing), GOLFTEC official (lesson plans & pricing). All checked Sep 29, 2026. Prices incl. tax (Sanctuary Golf's trial fee has no tax notation). GOLFTEC's 11 locations is a count of the location names listed on its price page.

Per lesson, the differences become clear.

RIZAP GOLF's BASIC: the ¥382,800 course fee plus the ¥55,000 enrollment fee, divided by 16 lessons, is about ¥27,400 per lesson (my calculation, cheapest option). A 10-lesson pack works out to ¥11,000 per lesson. GOLFTEC's 40-lesson pack brings it down to ¥8,690. The ¥11,000 first swing evaluation is separate, though. Sanctuary Golf is unlimited, so the more you go, the lower the per-lesson cost. I couldn't confirm its monthly fee as text on its official site, so I didn't calculate it.

I think “typical golf lesson prices” are hard to sum up in one line. A 60-minute session with a dedicated trainer isn't the same as one session within an unlimited plan. Even across just three schools, the per-lesson cost varies more than 3x, so match the units before you compare.

Sanctuary Golf's campaign: the official homepage said “first month ¥0, half-price enrollment,” while the Ikebukuro Ekimae price page said “¥0 enrollment (save ¥30,000 excl. tax)” (checked Sep 29). The wording differs by page, so check the page for the location you'd attend.

Who each format suits: private, small-group, indoor

For all three, I cover the strengths and the weaknesses in the same order.

Sanctuary Golf (small-group, unlimited, simulator)

A format for beginners without clubs who want to hit lots of balls. Its FAQ page says club and shoe rental is free and there's no charge for balls. The trial page says “simulator golf at every bay.” You can pause your membership for up to 3 months.

The weakness: you can't confirm the monthly fee as text on the official site. Locations are only in Kanto and Ibaraki, and lessons are small-group, so each person gets less coaching time than one-on-one. A membership valid at every location adds ¥5,000 (excl. tax) to the monthly fee.

Good fit if you

Not a fit if you

Ad

Per-location price pages and trial booking: 【サンクチュアリゴルフ】

RIZAP GOLF (one-on-one, fixed-term courses)

A format where you commit to a set period with a dedicated trainer. BASIC starts at 16 lessons (2 months). It comes with a 30-day refund guarantee from the first course use, covering the program fee (merchandise and the golf assessment are excluded). The installment example listed is up to 60 payments, from ¥11,500 a month (total ¥692,862).

The weakness: the biggest up-front cost of the three. The ¥55,000 enrollment fee plus the course fee puts even BASIC over ¥400,000. The installment example totals ¥692,862. If you're considering installments, put that next to the lump-sum price before deciding.

Good fit if you

Not a fit if you

Ad

Book the golf assessment with trial lesson (60 min, ¥3,300): RIZAP GOLF

GOLFTEC (one-on-one, lesson packs)

No enrollment fee; you buy only as many lessons as you need. The official site says there's no enrollment fee, membership fee, bay fee or admin fee. It explains that the first swing evaluation analyzes your swing with AI video analysis (Optimotion). All lessons are one-on-one.

The weakness: at ¥11,000, its trial is the priciest of the three. The 10-lesson pack expires in 3 months, so if you go less than once a week, you may not use it up. There are 11 locations, and I found no refund guarantee on the price page.

Good fit if you

Not a fit if you

This one has no ad label because it isn't an affiliate partner of this site. You can check prices on GOLFTEC's official lesson plans & pricing page.

What to check at a trial: is your curve swing or gear?

At any school, it's fine to take one trial and stop there. What matters is whether that one session reveals what's really behind your curve.

  1. Bring your own clubs. Hit rental clubs and the day ends on a nice note. But the next club you grip will be your own.
  2. Have them check whether you hit the same shot with different clubs. If you curve it the same way with a 7-iron and a driver, it's your swing. If it's just one club, that club is worth suspecting.
  3. Ask: “Is my curve caused by my swing or my gear, and what did you see that told you so?” A place that answers with numbers or video will get to the point faster from the next session on.
  4. You don't have to sign up that day. Write down what they told you, take it home, and compare with one other school before deciding. There's no rush.

If someone promises “this many lessons, this many strokes off,” that's where I get suspicious. How fast you improve depends on the person and how much they practice, so it isn't a number anyone can promise.

The Gear Nerd's Pick: one session that records your curve in numbers

The Gear Nerd's Pick

One GOLFTEC first swing evaluation (60 min, ¥11,000) With conditions: only if you have your own clubs and your 7-iron finishes more than 10 yards to the side. The source of a curve, remember, is the mismatch between face angle and path. Even 10 yards is only about 3.6°. A few degrees isn't clearly visible to someone watching from the side, or to your own feel. That's why, for the first session, I pick a place that records the motion on video or in numbers. GOLFTEC officially says its first evaluation uses AI video analysis, and with no enrollment fee you can stop after one. The weaknesses: its trial is the priciest of the three, and it has only 11 locations. I don't recommend it if you don't own clubs yet.

My pick is a school that pays me no ad commission. I applied the criteria and that's where they led. Nothing more. If there's no location near you, you can ask the same three questions above at RIZAP GOLF's ¥3,300 assessment or Sanctuary Golf's ¥2,000 trial.

Who doesn't need lessons, and cheaper ways to go

Who doesn't need lessons right now

If you just want numbers, you don't need a school. Some ranges have bays that show ball-flight data, and there are home launch monitors too. The Yupiteru GST-7 BLE in the header image officially measures head speed, ball speed, smash factor (a gauge of center contact) and estimated distance; it doesn't show left-right curve. For left and right, hitting 10 balls and counting by eye how many yards off target they land is enough.

Maybe you want a place and time to hit balls more than you want teaching. For that there are private-room simulator golf studios with no lessons. GOLFNEXT24, for example, lists on its official site a joining fee of ¥11,000, monthly fees of ¥13,200 for the weekday daytime plan and ¥16,500 for the all-time plan, and 80-minute slots (60 minutes at some locations). It has studios in Hokkaido, Miyagi, Ibaraki, Saitama, Tokyo, Kanagawa, Chiba, Aichi, Osaka, Hyogo and Tottori (checked Oct 2, 2026). Nobody is there to teach you, so it does not suit someone who wants to know what in their swing is causing the problem. Count how many times a month you can actually go and work out the cost per visit before you decide.

Ad

GOLFNEXT24 official site (the link text is as specified by the advertiser, in Japanese): 【完全個室・同伴無料のシミュレーションゴルフスタジオ】

Filming from behind with your phone costs ¥0 too. But reading a few degrees of difference from footage is hard unless you're used to it. If counting doesn't reveal the cause, take one trial. In that order, you pay for one session at most.

  1. ¥0: hit 10 balls with your 7-iron and count the side misses. Film from behind with your phone
  2. ¥2,000–11,000: 1 trial. Bring your own clubs and ask the 3 questions above
  3. After that: if you'll take lessons, choose the format by per-lesson cost and how often you can go. If it was your gear, move on to checking lie angle and weight

How many yards off target did your 7-iron finish? Start from there.

FAQ

What do golf lessons typically cost?

Units differ by format, so there's no single answer. Working out a per-lesson cost from official figures, GOLFTEC's 40-lesson pack comes to ¥8,690 and RIZAP GOLF's BASIC (including enrollment, 16 lessons) to about ¥27,400 (checked Sep 29, 2026; my calculation). Sanctuary Golf offers unlimited lessons, and I couldn't confirm its monthly fee as text on its official site, so I didn't calculate it.

Are there golf schools with no enrollment fee?

GOLFTEC officially states there's no enrollment fee, membership fee, bay fee or admin fee. Sanctuary Golf shows an enrollment-fee campaign, but its official homepage says “half-price enrollment” while the Ikebukuro Ekimae page says “¥0 enrollment,” so check the page for the location you'd attend. RIZAP GOLF's enrollment fee is ¥55,000 (all checked Sep 29, 2026).

Can I take just a trial lesson and not sign up?

Yes. Trials cost ¥2,000 (50 min) at Sanctuary Golf, ¥3,300 (60 min) for RIZAP GOLF's golf assessment with trial lesson, and ¥11,000 (60 min) for GOLFTEC's first swing evaluation. Bring your own clubs, ask whether your curve comes from your swing or your gear, then take the answers home and compare.

Which golf schools offer a refund guarantee?

RIZAP GOLF has a 30-day refund guarantee from the first day you use the course. It covers the program fee; merchandise and the golf assessment are excluded. I couldn't find a refund guarantee on Sanctuary Golf's or GOLFTEC's official sites (checked Sep 29, 2026).

Related reading

Lessons or clubs first?
Count your side misses in yards to tell whether it's a gear issue or a swing issue.

How to choose a golf school | 4 numbers to measure before you go
For after you've decided to go: how to measure your own clubs before a trial.

Shaft flex: S vs. R
Even within S flex, 47–82 g. If it was your gear, start with weight.

Sources for this article

Last updated: Oct 2, 2026

Specs and prices are the figures published on manufacturers' official websites and in press releases, and by media outlets (checked Oct 2, 2026). They were not measured by this site.